You are here

2017 Award Recipients Announced

Guest Speaker Herb Winches '68

DeSales High School is proud to announce this year's recipients of the 2017 Hall of Honors Awards.

The deserving individuals will formally accept their awards at a dinner in their honor on Wednesday, September 13th. Doors open at 6:00 pm and dinner begins at 7:00 pm. The featured guest speaker will be Herb Winches '68, an award-winning and 35-year veteran of the sports broadcasting profession.

Three alumni will be inducted into the Hall of Honors, the highest distinction conferred by DeSales High School. Members of the Hall of Honors have distinguished themselves and DeSales through their outstanding accomplishments, character, and commitment to the mission of DeSales.

The Class of 2017 Hall of Honors inductees are A. Michael Brey '65, Thomas D. Hyland '68, and Col. Louis M. Johnson, Jr., USAF, Ret. '74.

Additionally, DeSales will confer three annual awards: the Outstanding Service Award - Carol A. Averill (graciously recognizes an individual's volunteer service to DeSales); Young Alumnus Award - Roman V. Aprile '10 (celebrates a DeSales graduate with extraordinary achievement by the age of thirty); and the President's Award - Michael P. Swearingen '03 (honors an exemplary faculty member at DeSales).

Registration is now open for this special evening! Please join us in in paying tribute to all of the award recipients and their significant contributions to DeSales High School and the broader community.

For more information on this event, please visit us at or contact the Advancement Office at (502) 883-2438 or